Our History


On 24th April 1982 twelve participants at the American Association of Endodontists Congress in Phoenix, Arizona, USA founded the European Academy of Endodontology. The Society was made up of “Active members” who could demonstrate a special interest in Endodontology.


During the Council Meeting held in Madrid during May 1983 it was decided to rename the European Academy of Endodontology as the European Society of Endodontology (ESE).

The inaugural Biennial Congress of the ESE was held at the Lido in Venice, Italy along with the 4th Congress of the Italian Society of Endodontics.


The ESE logo was officially approved and next to the already existing category "Active Member" the category "Honorary Member" was established.


During the 3rd Biennial Congress in Madrid the ESE Research Prize was established and awarded for the first time.


The ESE Research Prize was renamed the Wladimir Adlivankine ESE Research Prize after the Secretary and Treasurer of the ESE from 1987 to 1995.


In the first 18 years of its existence (1982-2000) the ESE consisted of approximately 150 Active Members and was managed by an elected Executive Committee, that included a President, Secretary, Treasurer and Editor.

Following work by Paul Wesselink (ESE Secretary 1995-2001) and Gunnar Bergenholtz, in 2001 the ESE adopted a new status as the "umbrella organisation" for European endodontic societies/associations; it also created a new category of ‘Certified’ individual member to replace the “Active” member category.

The new federal structure of the ESE was supported by an Executive Board that was itself overseen by a re-constituted General Assembly consisting of elected representatives from the Full member societies.

The main role of the Society was to oversee the biennial congresses that were organised and managed by national societies who bid for the honour of hosting the event. Biennial Congresses

The names of the individuals in posts over time can be seen here: Past ESE Officers


Executive Board 2008


Executive Board 2009


Executive Board 2010


In 2011, several committees were in existence – Research, Education & Scholarship, Clinical Practice and Membership.

The position of Editor was rescinded and the Chairs of the Research and Education Committees joined the Board.

An Administrator was appointed to help manage the increasing workload that was created as a result of the expanding scope and activities of the Society.

A new website was in operation and the ESE logo was redrawn


In 2013 the Society took on the responsibility for organising the biennial congresses.


In 2014, the first Research and Postgraduate Student meetings were held in Amsterdam.


Executive Board 2015


The Research and Postgraduate Student meetings were incorporated into a “Clinical Meeting”.

An Interim Chief Executive Officer post was created to take on the increasing workload of the Society; this replaced the post of Secretary that was deemed to be unsustainable. A new position of President Elect was also created. Dag Ørstavik became President and Vittorio Franco, Interim Treasurer. The Chairs of the Clinical Practice and Membership Committees became full members of the Executive Board. New membership categories were created – Specialist, Guest.


The General Assembly approved a revised structure for the Executive Board with an ongoing post of Chief Operating Officer replacing the Interim CEO post.

A new committee, Benefits of Endodontics, was created with Lise-Lotte Kirkevang appointed as its Chair.

A representative of individual members from the Specialist, Certified & Postgraduate students membership groups were invited to attend the General Assembly.

New membership categories were created – Guest Specialist, Guest Certified and Dental Nurse.

A revised Constitution & Bylaws was approved to reflect the changes to the Society.