## Honorary Membership of the ESE awarded to retiring President - Claus Löst



The General Assembly of the ESE agreed recently to award Honorary Membership of the Society to Claus Löst. Claus has served the ESE since 1998 when we was appointed Congress President for the very successful 2001 Munich Congress. In 2002 he was elected Secretary and then in 2009 President of the ESE. Thus, in total Claus served nearly 20 years in one senior capacity or another in the ESE. These positions were of course honorary and unpaid, and it is difficult to image that, at the same time, he was also Head of the Department of Conservative Dentistry in Tübingen, Germany and for some of that time the Head of the School.

Claus has led the ESE through some very interesting times – from when the Society consisted only of individual active members (pre-2001), to the new federal structure that was launched in 2002. The ESE now consists of 36 member national societies from 33 countries and represents over 7,500 so-called "ordinary" members within that structure. In addition, the Society has nearly 500 registered individual members, either specialist, certified, guest or postgraduate student.

Claus has just retired from his position in the School and is looking forward to his new position of Emeritus Professor and the opportunity to prepare manuscripts for publication in a more relaxed environment, and to have more time for his family and hobbies.

Claus joins the illustrious company of Gunnar Bergenholtz and Dag Ørstavik, the other surviving ESE Honorary Members. See:

https://www.e-s-e.eu/about-the-ese/honorary-members.html